top of page

Redefining a Childhood Experience

Japan is an inalienable part of my childhood. When I was seven, I moved to a small city called Tsukuba for my mom’s job. During the three years I spent there, I became fluent in Japanese. Also, I learned mannerisms in school that helped shape who I am today. However, when people asked me about my time in Japan, I couldn’t reply with anything more than “The school lunch is amazing, they serve strawberry shortcakes.” I wasn’t old enough to observe and understand the culture I grew up in. This feeling of detachment grew stronger in high school and I was determined to return to Japan while studying in college. At the UW, despite a busy academic and extracurricular schedule, I found a perfect fit with the semester exchange program at Keio University. Before I talk about my experience, I want to thank those who supported me in making this a reality, including my mom, the Plan2Go! program, the Ken & Carol Dixon Study Abroad Scholarship, and PSP Children’s Foundation Scholarship. With their support, I was on a personal mission to re-explore Japan.

Everyday Life

Tokyo’s train system is extremely complicated but incredibly efficient once one masters it. I remember on the first day taking six different trains, some by mistake, to get to my dorm from the airport. There is a lot to observe about Japanese culture even from train rides. The Japanese people are very disciplined. At all times, including peak hours, people form perfect lines while they wait for the train. Inside the train, it’s rare to find people eating or talking on the phone. There are also hidden rules that if broken, you will know because others will stare at you, such as putting on makeup or crossing your leg. On the other hand, Japan is heaven for a foodie like me. The food is both amazingly good and astonishingly cheap. From fast-food chains, family-owned restaurants to upscale restaurants, the way food is prepared and served reveals attention to detail and delicate handling. It also comes with surprising amount of choices. A restaurant that only sells curry can offer over 100 menu items. The only down-side is most restaurants don’t have to-go-boxes and it’s considered rude to have leftovers. Usually this was ok, but it was common to get a large rice and udon together when ordering a lunch set which resulted in me sitting in the restaurant for two hours.

Academics

At Keio, I took a mix of business courses and area-studies. In Strategic Management in East and Southeast Asia, we learned about regional and national businesses practices of ASEAN countries. This was very practical since I wanted to pursue a career in international business in East Asia. In Japanese Foreign Policy and Japanese Economy, I learned about Japan’s post-war economic miracle, its strong yet constrained relationship with the U.S., and various other problems Japan faces today, including an aging population. In Japanese Company Visits, I made my own cup noodles and design the package. However, the most fulfilling experience from these classes was comi

ng to terms with China’s difficult history with Japan. As a Chinese citizen, I got the opportunity to see history from the Japanese perspective and why Japan was constrained in some ways to face its past. Going forward, I’m motivated to be an advocate of peace between the two countries whenever possible.

Festivals

I arrived in late March during the cherry blossom festival season. While the UW Quad has always been famous for its cherry blossoms, Japan’s were even more extraordinary. During the day, the whole city was covered in light pink pedals as people gathered in parks and picnic under the trees. At night, lights at Nakameguro river projected the cherry blossoms onto the water, which was quietly beautiful. Beginning in late July, fireworks festivals are hosted all over the country. It’s like the Fourth of July in the U.S. but occurs every weekend and enjoyed without special reason. Japan’s unique affection for festivals ensures that there is always something to look forward to no matter what season of the year.

Afterthoughts

There are so many aspects of the stay I enjoyed, especially the food. However, I realized that Japan is not the country for me to live in anymore. Twelve years in the States have taught me to be outspoken and to challenge the status quo when necessary. In comparison, Japan values social harmony over individualism and tends to avoid change. Yet I am so thankful I was able to experience Japan both as a child and as an adult because each learning has been critical for my growth. As a child, I learned to be humble and respect those who are older than me. Now, I want to apply the positive aspects of the Japanese culture, such as attention to detail and commitment for delicacy, into my daily life. I am confident that this experience will give me a competitive edge in my future career and I am excited to bring an understanding of Japan’s high context culture into the workplace.


FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page